Notices

2 months sober and got lots of mouth ulcers

Old 10-28-2020, 02:18 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Not a native English speaker

2 months sober and got lots of mouth ulcers

Hi all,

I'm 2 month sober, feeling great, going strong.

For the last month, I've been having plenty of mouth ulcers. Usually I'd have one mouth ulcer when I was feeling more stressed and 5 days later, it would disappear. Now I have more than 10 at the same time. In the cheek, gums, tongue and throat. Those who have had these, one hurts, you can imagine the pain 10 can cause me.

Could this be linked to my sobriety? Could my body be expelling the toxins and lowering my mouth pH, raising its acidity, enabling all these ulcers?
Old 10-28-2020, 02:29 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Congrats on the 2 months!
I've no experience with those but I would think a call to the doc. would be in order.
Old 10-28-2020, 02:54 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

I've had mouth ulcers but not related to recent recovery.
They do really hurt so I'd see a Dr about it.

D
Old 10-28-2020, 03:51 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I wouldn't have thought they were linked to sobriety but checking on the UK's NHS website it recommends speaking to your GP or dentist if they persist or keep coming back or become painful and red.

https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/mouth-ulcers/
Old 10-28-2020, 06:30 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Renegade2 View Post
Hi all,

I'm 2 month sober, feeling great, going strong.

For the last month, I've been having plenty of mouth ulcers. Usually I'd have one mouth ulcer when I was feeling more stressed and 5 days later, it would disappear. Now I have more than 10 at the same time. In the cheek, gums, tongue and throat. Those who have had these, one hurts, you can imagine the pain 10 can cause me.

Could this be linked to my sobriety? Could my body be expelling the toxins and lowering my mouth pH, raising its acidity, enabling all these ulcers?