Notices

5 days sober

Old 10-21-2020, 01:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

5 days sober

hey y’all! i’m five days sober and i just found this site and am so thankful for it already. i’ve been white knuckling it these past few days but i’m starting to find resources and not feel so alone anymore. i’m a total recovery newbie i’ve never been to a meeting or anything but i think i’m gonna try some zoom ones now that i know about them and bc i’m scared to go in person bc of covid.

i don’t know how much to share bc i don’t want to trigger anyone else i’m just so tired of feeling like i have no control, of losing all my money, of all the shame, of the physical toll this is taking on my body, and feeling like i’m just living for my next fix. it feels impossible right now like i’ll never be strong enough. like i’ll always make the wrong choice. it’s only been five days and i can feel how easy it would be to just give and say screw it. but i want to be better. i want this time to be different.

there are things i like about life and there are people i love but overall the experience of living is something i would have passed on if i had the chance. i’m bipolar and i’m sure that has something to do with it but no matter how much we adjust our meds no matter how good i feel i never feel like yay living is great! it’s just like i can’t believe this is it. and i think that’s why i drink and use. and i don’t know how to fix that. i’m not suicidal i don’t want to die or anything i’m just trying to be honest about why i do what i do. and the only person i think who really understood how i felt about all this was my dad and he passed away a year ago.

i’m sorry i don’t know if any of this was the right way to start i’m just kinda winging it.
Old 10-21-2020, 01:25 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Really solid first post. Welcome Stonecold. Looking forward to learning more about you along your journey.
Old 10-21-2020, 01:33 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by BeABetterMan View Post