Notices

First Week Behind Me

Old 10-11-2020, 10:05 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Steph in Windsor

First Week Behind Me

This is my 3rd thread post. I'm a total newb and found this site early this morning, on the start of my 8th day of no drinking. Today was a challenge. I didn't find myself hard jonesing, but I came *this* close to pouring a shot of vodka, or slugging the last of the less-than-half bottle of rose in the cupboard. If I lived alone, there would be no booze in the house whatsoever. But as it is, my husband is not on this journey with me, so he is drinking and doing what he does. I'm on my own path.

In order to avoid the urges, i retreated upstairs to my room, opened my laptop (which is a BRAND new purchase for me - it literally arrived yesterday - and there's a story behind why it's such a big deal for me to have bought it for myself in the first place (thanks to my dad for the generous 50th cash bday gift in July)) and started to write. I have a running document that I'm titling "October 2020." It's basically a journal. When I'm feeling the urge to drink, I head upstairs, plop on my bed, open the laptop and start writing. All my thoughts. Even if it's just the words "I can do this i can do this i can do this" over and over and over.... I had to do this 3 times since 3pm this afternoon. Each time I did it, i kept myself from caving. I'm glad to be here, and have this forum. Not sure if i'm doing it right. Maybe i'm too wordy. Maybe i need to delete this post and save this kind of writing for my journal. At any rate, i'm perusing the threads and finding a lot of comfort being among people who are going through the same thing as me.