Notices

Struggling to Understand

Old 10-11-2020, 06:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Struggling to Understand

I recently, gently and lovingly, confronted my significant other about his drinking (which I later learned was leading to black outs as many as four-to-five times a week) and how sad it makes me feel when he doesn't show up to anything we had planned because of his drinking. As background, I have never dated anyone with a drinking problem before so I read dozens and dozens of articles about how to do this after I realized the extent of his drinking and educated myself as much as possible about what was going on. Per the resources I studied, I carefully used "I" sentences (e.g., "I really care and it makes me sad when ..") I didn't blame, I didn't accuse, I didn't get mad. I just gently said I was hurting because I missed doing things together and I was concerned because I loved him and that if he wanted help, I'm here to help. The articles I read said not to expect anything and, in fact, to expect denial or resistance (but of course I naively hoped otherwise because this couldn't really be happening to me). He responded by saying that "judging him with labels when I don't have any facts is not a friend-like thing to do" and that I'm "not any type of friend." (We were so much more friends.). He hasn't spoken to me since. I'm absolutely heartbroken. I know it's the end but ... what did I do wrong? I'm just struggling so hard to understand this.
Old 10-11-2020, 06:57 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

You didn't do anything wrong, he just chose drinking over you. It may well be the end of the relationship, but really, how enjoyable is the relationship if his drinking ruins it.

When someone shows you who they are, believe them. I know it hurts, but I think that you'll come to see it was a blessing in disguise that you didn't spend any more of your life with a selfish man who would choose drinking over his relationship with you.