Notices

1st Jan 2020 - end August 2020

Old 08-29-2020, 03:34 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

1st Jan 2020 - end August 2020

What a year 2020 has been and it's only two thirds completed!

I spent New Years Eve night at A&E having been drinking and feeling suicidal. Something that I repeated on and off up to 25th July. I don't know what it was about that last time but I haven't drunk since.

What did I miss this year through drinking? My child and their partner getting engaged in March. Numerous Zoom 'socials' with aforementioned child. My nephew making me a great Aunt at the beginning of July, missing out on a social housing property as too addled to complete the application form (I've been sleeping on the sofa for over 18 months due to black mould in the bedrooms, kitchen ceiling leaks etc. so being housed would have been marvellous) and heaven knows what else.

So, where am I one month since my last drink?
I've celebrated my younger nephew and my niece getting their first choice University places on the day they got their results rather than being told and not remembering.
Tuesday morning I got a call from a different housing associaltion about a property I had been nominated for a couple of weeks back though I was third on the list so was advised not to hold my breath. I was a little nervous about it as it is next to a pub. The other two haven't taken up the option so offered to me subject to checks. In the meantime the pub has closed for good. Last I heard from the housing association was an email asking permission to approach current landlord for a reference. I'm 'pretty' certain that they would only do that if all other checks have gone through ok.
My child and their partner will be here in just under an hour for the first time since lockdown hit back in March and I will be showered, dressed and waiting at the bus stop for them.
I've signed up for a couple of online courses.
I'm interacting with counsellors and other organisations.