Notices

My name is Liz, and I'm an alcoholic

Old 08-07-2020, 02:44 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
soberfighterwriter

My name is Liz, and I'm an alcoholic

I have avoided that sentence for years, telling myself that I only have a drinking problem. What that did for me was allowing me to drink, because that's what people with a drinking problem do. No more. I don't want to do this anymore. I want to be the best person I can be, and drinking dulls my true colors. I want to see what I can achieve sober, when I can be creative and reach my full potential. I am a writer, and I've heard so many stories of great writers that wrote their best works drunk or high on drugs. Well, not me.

I am an alcoholic, and that's why I can't drink. I want to be sober.
Old 08-07-2020, 02:46 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Admitting that one has a problem is all that is necessary IMO. That's what I heard from a very experienced person who manages a rehab center. But yeah me too I am an alcoholic.
Old 08-07-2020, 03:04 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome Liz
Old 08-07-2020, 03:07 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hi Liz, well done on admitting it. I too feel like it is an important delineation to make between "problem drinking" and "alcoholic". I believe it gives us total control over our AV when we are 100% truthful to ourselves. Announcing that we are alcoholics is vital in my opinion. It also takes courage, so well done
Old 08-07-2020, 03:12 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
soberfighterwriter

Originally Posted by AAPJ View Post
Admitting that one has a problem is all that is necessary IMO. That's what I heard from a very experienced person who manages a rehab center. But yeah me too I am an alcoholic.
Thanks, AAPJ.
Old 08-07-2020, 03:13 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
soberfighterwriter

Originally Posted by Sammy1980 View Post
Welcome Liz
Thank you, Sammy.
Old 08-07-2020, 03:14 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  
soberfighterwriter

Originally Posted by owen90 View Post