Notices

Back Again

Old 07-01-2020, 08:09 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Back Again

Hello all, it has been a while since I have posted on this site. I have been visiting here, off and on, since about 2011. At that time, I had started drinking again after spending the previous 30 years as a teetotaler. I quit again in 2013 with your help and remained sober until about a year and a half ago.

My excuse for starting drinking again was my wife痴 health. She received a double lung transplant in 2010 for pulmonary fibrosis; she had never smoked. The transplant served her well until January 2019 when she went into chronic, irreversible, rejection. By September she was in home hospice care. All of this time I was her primary caregiver, a full time job. She passed away the day before Christmas. We had been married for 60 years. She was a gentle, caring and loving person; I miss her terribly.

Her final illness and passing was difficult and stressful for me. I attended her pretty much full time until she entered hospice; I then had some help from the hospice people. Still, it was difficult and I started drinking again. I kept the drinking under control until she died; I needed to be there for her. But, after she died I started drinking more heavily; it helped, initially, with the grief.

About a week ago I decided that my life would be better if I were to quit drinking so I quit, again. I知 83 this year and I hope this will be my last day one.

I知 back on this forum now to give myself a bit of accountability and to find support when the occasion arises. I知 also looking for some company; living alone takes some getting used to. I知 now on day six and feeling better. I知 glad to be back.
Old 07-01-2020, 08:30 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome back, Cascabel, and I'm very sorry for the loss of your life.

I agree that your life will be much better without alcohol.
Old 07-01-2020, 08:43 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Sobriety is Traditional