Notices

30 days.... feeling exhausted

Old 03-12-2020, 02:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

30 days.... feeling exhausted

Hello everyone, I'm 30 days sober today, I've been here several times before.... but never to far past the 30 day mark. The last few days have been really hard to not drink.... as I have had a few days off of work and to myself.... time I would typically fill with booze in my more alcoholic frame of mind. But I haven't,.... though my mind has been obsessing about drinking over the past week or so and it's exhausting... and I can't seem to pin point why. I just read a post Dee replied to where he included a link about "urge surfing". This sounds like it would be helpful for me right now but im not really good at medatation.... I will def give it a try though. Another emotion that has washed over me alot today is shame.... shame related to how I carried myself while drinking, and the impression people around me must have of me because of this...... this in conjunction with the obsession to drink has been a double punch for me today......I know drinking won't make any of these things better but this is how im feeling today. Currently my recovery program consist of reading books on recovery, listening to podcast, and visiting SR frequently.... I would like to include journaling as well, and working the steps of AA. Thanks for reading, this site means so much to me and is very important to my recovery.
Old 03-12-2020, 03:02 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

You've got a lot of good ideas to help keep you from drinking sweetiepie, I hope you put them into play because I know (just like me) when you return to work having not conceded you will feel so much stronger. Yes!

I'm not very good at meditation either but picked up on the link (from Dee) that you mentioned and am going to give it a try too. Psychiatrist in detox/rehab suggested it to me and I scoffed, but not any longer.