Notices

Hello, new here.

Old 01-11-2020, 07:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Hello, new here.

Hi,

I'm not real sure what I'm doing here. Well, I know why I'm here.

So I've been drinking pretty heavily for the past 12 years. It didn't start out exactly like that, but it ended up like that. I can't remember how long I've been drinking every day, but most of that 12 years. In fact, I can't remember the last time I went a day without alcohol until just a few days after New Years this year.

I just decided I'm tired of drinking. I know it's affected my health, my career and my relationship. Sound familiar?

So, anyway, sorry if I'm rambling. I'm very nervous and sort of I don't know how to say it, confused?

So on to the rambling. After New Years my wife and I got into a pretty big argument over the fact that I pretty much drank my way through the holidays, again. I felt really guilty and I knew she was right and so I decided I needed to put this crap out of my life.

So week before last I gave it a try and I quit for 2 days and then there was someone's birthday and... yep, drunk as *** again. Of course, how can you celebrate without getting dumb **** drunk.

Then I went back to the plan. Today is the 6th day I haven't drank any alcohol. It went great the first several days and OMG I slept so well! I haven't done that in as long as I can remember.

But then day before yesterday around drinking time, 5-6PM, I started feeling sort of sick, nausea, headache. Yesterday, same thing. But this evening, it all went very badly. I just got sick again, but also depressed and wow, I felt truly awful and miserable. I didn't expect this. I've finally snapped out of it a little, but wow! Is this normal? I I've never felt depressed and nervous like that in my entire life. I was almost out the door to get beer. I panicked! But my wife saved me from doing it. Really, is this normal? How long can that last?
Old 01-11-2020, 07:34 PM
  # 2 (permalink)