Notices

Mon Cheri chocolates

Old 11-23-2019, 09:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Mon Cheri chocolates

Hi there,

im totally new to this forum. I joined as my mother is an alcoholic (still refuses to admit it though).

she has agreed to a trial run of 10 days of no alcohol just to prove us wrong. It seemed to be going well-ish until today. She bought some chocolates that we get in France called Mon Cheri (dark chocolate with a cherry in the middle and alcohol).

Could this be a trigger? Does this count as “not drinking”?

I am completely new to the whole idea of alcoholism and it’s do’s and don’ts. But I’m completely alone in getting her through all this.

any tips?

I am not a drinker and have thrown out all the alcohol in my house.

If anyone could tell me about the chocolates that would be great!!

Best regards,

chelsea
Old 11-23-2019, 09:27 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome!

Since your mother refuses to admit she's an alcoholic, she will have a very hard time stopping drinking for good. Stopping drinking for 10 days will not prove whether you are an alcoholic or not. Many alcoholics go weeks, even months without drinking. It's more about what happens to you when you drink.

Most of us avoid alcohol using in cooking or food, because it is alcohol.

I hope that your mother decides to live a sober life and seek support for herself. You might like to check out AlAnon in your area as a support for you.
Old 11-23-2019, 09:49 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
not a greeter