Notices

The Trifecta: AA, Keto & Intermittent Fasting

Old 08-06-2019, 09:53 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Smile The Trifecta: AA, Keto & Intermittent Fasting

Hey everyone!!!

I am posting this only as I AM experiencing it. Of course, I am not a doctor so I can only go off of my own journey.

I went to my first meeting on the 20th, at 2 days sober. Then 2 days after that, I read on a thread that Keto had helped someone with their sugar (alcohol) cravings. This peaked my interest as I had also gained 11 pounds in 3 months while drinking. I was feeling so low in regards to confidence and self-esteem. I have always exercised religiously and of course addiction stole that from me as well. So I decided to give it a try, it would also be a good distraction for me.

I will be 20 days sober tomorrow and other than a "grieving" process of my old life, which I heard is normal, I have not had a craving for alcohol. I think about it, but it is more in a lifestyle way and in no way do I want to return to it. In the beginning of the Keto, I had bad sugar cravings and satisfied them by "cheating" with a piece of candy each day or a gumball. That usually did the trick! Then that subsided about a week in.

Throughout my research into the diet, I read that it is most efficient paired with intermittent fasting. I am attempting to keep a 8 hour eating cycle followed by a 16 hour fasting cycle, 8 hours of which I am sleeping (hopefully!). I am not that diligent with it yet, I will have a small snack late at night.