SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Life isn't fair, but I knew that (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/438645-life-isnt-fair-but-i-knew.html)

thomas11 05-17-2019 06:47 PM

Life isn't fair, but I knew that

I want to make this short and sweet. I went to a therapist to discuss my "depression" which really isn't depression. But I'll play along. I guess I am justified in my feelings, but going forward, nothing is necessarily going to change.

Job hunt, strong candidate, encouraged to apply for future positions. Currently I am a former business owner who brought in 6 million dollars and now I am operating a paper press for $15 per hour.

ps. I can sell jobs and operate a business that turned about $500K a year and now I can't get a job selling pressure washer nozzles. I am a white male in his early 50's. Time to hang myself?

Dee74 05-17-2019 07:02 PM

Jeff what on earth makes you think it's not depression? :dunno:

Time to hang myself?
For a long time, I thought thoughts like that were normal. They're not.

You liked the factory job last time we spoke and were getting some degree of satisfaction from it - are you still doing that?

D

Zanna 05-17-2019 07:13 PM

I think whether you want to call it 'depression' or sheer boredom, you are at the moment in a position where you are underachieving and it's getting to you.
I have no idea of how you got into this position, but if you managed to bring in X amount of money in your previous position, then you obviously have intelligence that is currently not being used at work. Boredom / depression call it what you want.
As I said, I have no idea what has happened but please, please ditch the 'I'm a white guy' routine - it's not pretty.