Notices

Trying this again

Old 05-05-2019, 01:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Trying this again

Hello. My first post here and I am ready to quit drinking. I’ve been drinking since I was 14 years old and I am now 47. I tell myself every Sunday that I will quit on Monday and then start up again right after work on Monday. I drink every day. I get down on myself for wanting to quit and never do. I want to quit for so many reasons. I am a hard working leader in my career but I drink. I am a great mom but I drink. I’m not a very nice wife because I drink. I get angry at people because I drink. I push people away because I drink. I have severed ties with my sister and mother because I drink. So why do I drink ??? Why can’t I stop ? I want to stop ! Im a good person but getting not so good anymore. I’m getting mean because of my alcohol problem and it’s not me. I emailed an out patient facility. I hope to hear back soon. Wish me luck.
Old 05-05-2019, 02:07 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome back!

Yes, alcoholism usually makes us isolate ourselves in order to be able to continue drinking. I had lost track of all my friends by the time I stopped drinking. Alcoholism robs us of ourselves and I became a person I hated.

But, you can stop drinking and be the person you want to be. Take a look around here. Come up with a plan that will work for you. What can you do during the times you were drinking in order to distract yourself?
Old 05-05-2019, 02:22 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Getting sober for good was the best thing I've ever done for myself. I hope our support can help you get sober and live a good life as the person you were meant to be.
Old 05-05-2019, 02:40 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Yes, welcome back. Some don't make it.
Like you I started drinking at fourteen. I finally quit at forty nine. I've been sober ten years.
I pushed , and blew off, most everyone in my life by the end.