Notices

Integrating in to normal life.

Old 03-12-2019, 07:56 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Integrating in to normal life.

So, why I stumbled upon this site is that I have a bachelors party I'm going to this month for an old friend and was really looking for some support in how to deal with these situations in life. Now, it won't be a crazy booze fest as I know everyone going are not big drinkers in the first place and the groom hardly drinks at all, but I'm sure there will be some cocktails or craft beer present. More of a board/video game hangout with some unknown events the best man has planned I think.

I want to go to commemorate the life event and make it through with my sobriety intact. I've taken the step of telling my oldest friend that will be there about my addiction. I'm really just looking for some supportive suggestions, ideas or perhaps shared experiences in going back to social life.
Old 03-12-2019, 10:23 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

I saw your earlier post, you have over 100 days sober. So you are in a good place. It isn't going to be a drunk fest, as you said. But if there is going to be pressure to drink, how are you going to handle it? Can you say no firmly? Are you going to be concerned about what you are going to tell them? Are you going to make excuses why you don't drink?

If you are committed to being sober, you won't drink. If you are tempted, or think you'll be tempted to drink, don't go. And if you are afraid to skip the event, that might be a red flag. Your sobriety is priority one. It has to be. You say want to go to commemorate the "life event." Life event? It's just a bachelor party.
Old 03-13-2019, 12:08 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks for the thread VX,