Notices

Sorry I’m not sorry

Old 01-30-2019, 08:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sorry I’m not sorry

So I admit I was an alcoholic, and I did do bad things that I needed to make an apology.

But, I also said I’m sorry for every action in my life. Is anyone familiar with this phenomenon? Essentially, I was apologizing for the human being I was, even if I did nothing warranting an apology? Even when I was sober? Even at the most minuscule things? This has been weighing heavy on me, because it’s been part of who I am for so long.

I’ve started checking myself when I’m about to slip out an I’m Sorry that makes no sense. I’m just not sorry for being me anymore? And the more I think about it, the more I feel like I was so weak and not the strong person I think that I am? I’ve been apologizing for every move I’ve made for 25 years...it’s hard to wrap my head around it? How did I fall so far down the rabbit hole that I was sorry for being me?

Anyone relate?
Old 01-30-2019, 09:07 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

https://mrsponsorpants.typepad.com/m...y-anymore.html
Old 01-30-2019, 09:10 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Yes I can relate Suzie. I apologise a lot and also feel inferior to others, never quite good enough or different somehow.

Sounds like you are making changes which is good.
Old 01-30-2019, 09:35 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Yes, Suzie, I can relate, too. I was married to a woman with borderline personality disorder for over 20 years. It got to the point I felt I needed to apologize for my very existence or the air that I breathed. Two years of counseling helped, but in my head my automatic response to just about anything, whether I had anything to do with it or not, is to apologize. I'm still very much a work in progress in that regard.
Old 01-30-2019, 09:43 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Thank u for this. It’s a keeper and will be something I keep to look at as a constant reminder of support.
Old 01-30-2019, 10:00 AM
  # 6 (permalink)