Notices

Anyone have experience with Wellbutrin

Old 01-04-2019, 06:47 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Anyone have experience with Wellbutrin

My doctor has prescribed me 150 mg of Wellbutrin for some depression I've been having lately. I'm skeptical of anything that's messing with my brain chemistry. However I'd love to kick this depression and sadness and I feel like I'm doing everything in my power naturally and it just seems to not work. Some things I'm doing is meditation journaling indefinitely not drinking. so I'm wondering if anyone has taken Wellbutrin before and can give me an honest opinion of your experience with it before I start taking it in the morning. I understand that it can feel like a stimulant which I'm not a fan of and I definitely have insomnia so I'm worried that it's going to mess with that as well. I guess I won't know how I'm going to react to it unless I tried it.
Old 01-04-2019, 07:13 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

I have no experience with Welbutrin, but have been on sertraline (zoloft) for years, with good results. My doctor told me (in the beginning) if it made me hyper at all, to take it in the morning. It had some side effects, tho I don't remember them now, but they went away and within a few weeks I was feeling a lot better.

Give it a chance, and remember that it can take a few weeks to feel any improvement in your mood.
Old 01-04-2019, 07:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank you so much Least
Old 01-04-2019, 07:43 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I ended up taking an anti-d after trying pretty much everything else. It has made quite a difference for me.
Old 01-04-2019, 07:59 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
p***enger

After I quit drinking, I was still depressed. I gave it a year and was still depressed, though meditating, etc. Unfortunately I let depressed thinking get hold and relapsed, but straightened out and saw a dr. Getting on anti-d's (not wellbutrin, but similar) saved my sobriety and a whole lot else.
Old 01-04-2019, 11:38 PM