Notices

Aa

Old 12-20-2018, 11:48 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Aa

Hey all!

Yesterday, I celebrated 8 months of sobriety. I also attended my 2nd AA meeting. I just sat and listened at my first meeting. This nice lady there who is 11 years sober sat with me. I told her some of my story and I told her how much it would mean to me if I had a chip. They don’t give out chips until the end of the month but she went to the back and gave me a 24 hour chip to hold onto until I could come back and get my 8 month chip. Last night, they called on me to go up and speak. I’m not good at public speaking but I felt safe there. It felt so good to be in a place with absolutely no judgment (like here in SR!) with people who understand exactly what you’re going through. After the meeting a few people came up to me. One man suggested I get a sponsor to work through my steps as I mentioned I am struggling with the guilt and shame of my alcoholism. He said he is also a “recovering Catholic” as that guilt is burned into our brains when we grow up. No offense to Catholics as I was raised Catholic too but I found this funny because the guilt aspect has always been true for me! Another man approached me and told me not to worry, speaking up there will become easier as he knew I was nervous. He asked me if I noticed how loud that group applauded for me... he said “they applaud just as loud for your 8 months as they did for someone with 14 years. You’re safe here”. I know AA isn’t for everyone... I was skeptical and scared at first too but I just want to encourage anyone who is struggling to at least go and sit in on a meeting. You don’t have to speak if you don’t want to, you can just listen. I went out of curiosity and I’m so glad I did. My only regret is I didn’t go earlier in my sobriety as I feel like it would have truly helped me when I was starting my journey. The lady I met at my first meeting gave me her phone number and asked me to please come back to get my chip because she wants to be