Notices

Advice on sponsor

Old 11-23-2018, 01:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Advice on sponsor

Hi everyone. I am looking for some advice. Not sure if this is the best place to post. I am new to aa, have 66 days sober, and have a sponsor who I asked around day ten. For my 30 day coin meeting, she forgot to attend the meeting. It was kind of a bummer as she said she would be there. But no big deal, I still received my coin, and then she gave me a coin at a meeting a few days later. Now to my 60 days sober, we worked out a day to meet at the same meeting (today) to celebrate my 60 days, and she wanted to be the one to give me the coin. She messaged me that if anyone asked if I had to my coin (since my 60 days already passed) to tell them no but my sponsor would be giving it to me officially Friday. So that seemed pretty specific to me. So today, again she doesn’t show up to the meeting. She messaged me how my day was. And I said I missed you at the meeting, she didn’t reply yet and it is clear she forgot. I am frustrated, mainly because she told me to tell others I would be getting my coin today, when I could have already gotten it.
As I type this, I’m wondering if I am just being sensitive, or making something out of nothing. She has a lot on her plate. But I hate being forgotten. Especially when this is something I am proud of. I don’t know, I guess I just need advice, on the situation. I’m sure this seems silly. And maybe I am expecting too much, I guess I should read more on the sponsor sponsee relationship.
Old 11-23-2018, 01:39 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Be honest with your sponcer that you feel let down. Thank the sponcer for their help and tell them you will get a new sponcer.
Old 11-23-2018, 05:11 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

While many here may suggest that you get a new sponsor, I'm less certain that's the way to go.