Notices

Almost a year, question, and Happy Thanksgiving

Old 11-22-2018, 07:57 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Almost a year, question, and Happy Thanksgiving

All,

It has been a long time since I posted. I am posting to say hello and ask you a question. I've become very active in AA and have a home group and sober friends. I am still taking it day by day but some days alcohol doesn't even cross my mind and I am very thankful for that.

Over the past several months I wish I could say I've been on a pink cloud but recently I've been an emotional wreck. I've been missing my ex husband (we've been divorced for almost 20 years) a ton. We got together to talk and I just burst into tears. The relationship is haunting me. Is this normal?

Thank you all and thank you for your support. Happy Thanksgiving.
Old 11-22-2018, 08:10 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Chow,

Congrats on a year.

I’ve got a little over a year, and feel that I continue to work through things from the near and distant past. For me, alcohol was a big coping mechanism.

Having shoved things down for so long, I try to be patient as I feel the healing, both physical and mental, is ongoing.

Happy Thanksgiving,
-bora
Old 11-22-2018, 08:13 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Congratulations on your recovery.

I think that you begin to work through things when you're ready. Maybe this is the time for you to really come to terms with your divorce. It sounds like you're doing well.
Old 11-22-2018, 08:49 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
under new management

Hi chowchow

I am soon coming up on 4 years and my experience for the first couple of years was healing for my brain, my body and my spirit. I had a tough time, for sure.

Especially so, when I realised I had no buffer between me and my feelings once I stopped drowning them with alcohol.

Eventually, good feelings, actual authentic good feelings, made themselves known, too, and now I am thankful that I get to feel my full range of feelings and face them all with a clear heart.