Notices

Self-detox

Old 09-29-2018, 12:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Self-detox

Hi, All, I'm going at this again to quit drinking and live a life of freedom. I'm an at home drinker, so alot of my family and friends do not know that I am alcoholic. My consumption of alcohol and tolerance has gone way up (two bottles of wine) and I'm 5'3 130 pounds.

I've decided to do an at home self-detox and I'm scared to death! I tried tapering off the alcohol, but that didnt work so well. "One glass of wine is too many and a thousand glasses of wine is not enough." I've been drinking every night since November 2017 with the exception of a few days sober here and there.

I wrote this post to see if anyone else out there has successfully done an at home detox and what to expect and how to prepare. I also am looking for support. I have the shakes right now, a little bit of heart palputations, but that could be from the anxiety.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. I know I'm not alone, this site is so helpful and educational. ❤
Old 09-29-2018, 01:07 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I'm glad you've decided to stop drinking. It's always best to talk to your doctor before detoxing because it can be unpredictable. Do you have someone with you at home?
Old 09-29-2018, 01:15 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Tapering is the pits. I know. I agree with Anna, it's good to talk to your doctor or at the VERY least, please let someone know that can check on you from time to time if not be with you.
Please post lots! Detoxing is tough and scary I know. You can do this.
Old 09-29-2018, 01:15 PM
  # 4 (permalink)