Notices

Tips for getting through life discomforts?

Old 07-31-2018, 07:55 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Tips for getting through life discomforts?

Not sure if I’m posting in the right board or not but see so many smart people commenting on other posts I’m trying my luck here first. This is less about sobriety than it is about life advice but it seems like the patterns that drove us to the bottle are some of the same that drive us to other habits or to low self worth, limited actualization and agency, and so forth.

Anyhow I am a manager at the executive level in my job and sometimes this comes with making tough decisions that hurt people’s feelings. This happened today when I had to turn someone down for a job who was in many ways a better candidate but I based the decision primarily on longevity of the other candidate. I botched the handling of the whole thing, and part of me knows that part of making decisions is that I won’t always make the right one. My heart hurts for disappointing someone, for not being certain I made the right call, for prioritizing short term relief for what may not be better long term. I guess I know that eventually the discomfort will pass and that’s mainly enough but if I could get better at not spending the interlude between now and that point thinking I’m a terrible jerk a hole that would be better. I don’t think that about myself in my rational mind but when I hurt someone especially I have a refrain that sneaks into my mind about what a basically worthless human I am. Does anyone else have this for whatever reason? What do you do to make the pain go away faster (other than drinking/drugging)? Or is there anything other than the passage of time?

Thanks so much in advance!
Old 07-31-2018, 09:52 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I was always very upset about people being sad at me. angry at me, not liking me any more or creating conflict and disquiet over decisions I made.