SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   How much damage have I done? (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/430181-how-much-damage-have-i-done.html)

DJ1986 07-18-2018 09:24 AM

How much damage have I done?

Hi everyone,

I’m in to my fourth day of not drinking and feeling fairly positive. Would of course love a drink tonight but won’t be having one.

Since stopping, I’ve become increasingly worried (I’d say paranoid, but that would suggest it’s not real) about the damage I have already done. I am planning on making a GP appointment after a few weeks of not drinking but I was hoping you guys might have some insight in the meantime?

I’ve been drinking too much for years, but particularly for the last 5/6 years where I’ve been drinking everyday and I’m really concerned about what permanent damage I’ve done to my liver.

In the last couple of days I’ve been through old bank statements etc and have pieced together how much I’ve been drinking over the past 15 years, which I’ve included below.

I know you’re not medical professionals but would be grateful for any insights you could provide in terms of the potential damage I have done? Please be honest with me.

Thanks so much in advance for any help you can give.

DJ.

——————————-

2 years - age 17 to 19
- Drank on average 1 day a week
- Average 5/6 beer cans per drinking day

4 years - age 19 to 23
- Drank on average 5 days a week
- Average 5 shots of spirits and 5/6 beer cans per drinking day

2 years - age 23 to 25
- Drank on average 3 days a week
- Average 4 beer cans per drinking day

2 years - age 25 to 27
- Drank on average 4 days a week
- Average 4 beer cans and 1 shot of spirit per drinking day

1 year - age 27 to 28
- Drank on average 5 days a week