Notices

Scared to get sober!!!!

Old 06-27-2018, 05:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Scared to get sober!!!!

My biggest fear is getting sober and going through both physical and mental withdrawals. I've been addicted since the age of 13. I don't know how to live sober. I'm so scared.
Old 06-27-2018, 05:12 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hello, essjade187.

You didn't say how old you are now. I don't know because I'm not a medical doctor, but would you feel safe talking to a doctor about the physical withdrawals? At one point I had to be put on a mild medication because of the cramps in my feet and hands. The mental withdrawals were bad - but - I had help. I attended AA meetings and met people who so graciously shared their stories with me, their experience, strength, and hope. As I said, I don't know your present age but the longer you wait the worse it gets. Alcoholism is a progressive disease. But I didn't get sober out of fear. I got sober because I did not want to live that way anymore. Life is good without alcohol. It no longer makes choices for me. I took back my life and I'm grateful for my sobriety one day at a time.
Old 06-27-2018, 05:13 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

It's frightening at first but mostly just because it's "an unknown". Have you talked to your dr about physical withdrawal at all?
Old 06-27-2018, 05:35 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

It's great to have you with us, essjade. I'm so glad you decided to take a look at what drinking is doing to your life.

I drank for 30 yrs. I convinced myself that life would be dull and pointless without it. In the end, the opposite was true - I was always numb & foggy. Nothing was happy or exciting. I knew I wanted to reclaim my life, but I was scared too. Being here and talking about my feelings really helped. Everyone understands. I hope you'll keep reading & posting.
Old 06-27-2018, 05:41 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover