SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Struggling with Withdrawal? (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/428991-struggling-withdrawal.html)

wheekie 06-17-2018 11:27 AM

Struggling with Withdrawal?

Hi, I'm just getting started getting off alcohol and don't know if I'll be successful or not. Sometimes I'm not sure I want to. I'm apathetic.

I've been wondering why this is so and thinking maybe I feel bad about myself like I don't care what happens to me --like I deserve it.

I'm working on changing my thinking but it is tough, and I feel very alone.

I've suffered from depression off and on in the past then felt like I turned the corner. Got in great physical shape and then messed up my life by divorcing my then husband. I regret it and can't take it back. I've tried to re-open that door, but of course, he's done with me.

I don't know why I divorced. He was and is a good guy, loving father, supportive, you name it. Emotionally he was always very shut off and I guess this was part of it.

But, another part was just me...thinking the grass was greener elsewhere. I was selfish. I feel like it was a huge mistake and can't seem to get past it and forgive myself and make the best of things or feel hopeful for the future.

I feel such shame as well because I feel my actions hurt my daughter who is the stars in my sky. I feel I can never make up for this.

I'm always looking back...on my marriage that I screwed up and how things were with my family and friends in the past. I look back too much and am sad about how things have changed and passed. So much so it makes it hard to look ahead.

Anyway, in the wake of financial ruin (from divorce) and worrying about survival, my mom died and I struggled with anxiety and it affected my jobs.