Notices

Gabapentin for withdrawal

Old 06-07-2018, 11:02 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Gabapentin for withdrawal

Has anyone been on gabapentin for withdrawal? It’s used as an off label for alcohol withdrawal. I was in the hospital for detox and they wanted me to try it but I was leary. Now I’m thinking I should have tried it as the naltrexone gave me terrible side effects. I’m really on my last leg here after heavy drinking on and off for twenty years. Anyone experience you can share with this, please share! Thank you!
Old 06-08-2018, 12:15 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I have no experience to share.
Have you run the idea past your Dr?

D
Old 06-08-2018, 04:13 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I’d be careful with gabapentin, it is an anti-seizure med and should never be taken with alcohol.
Old 06-08-2018, 06:26 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I've never heard of gabapentin being used for withdrawal. I've heard of it being used for nerve pain and stuff like that.

Naltrexone is also not for withdrawal but is supposed to help suppress cravings. I have heard it has nasty side effects for some.

If you are still in withdrawal call your dr or go to the ER. Usually a short course of benzo's are used for withdrawal purposes.
Old 06-08-2018, 06:48 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Yes, I have been on Gabapentin since I quit drinking in Dec. it was part of my outpatient detox program and it helps prevent seizures - I was at high risk since my withdrawal was so awful. I am still on it as it should help calm the brain and rebuild gaba receptors although no proof to that. I think it helps. Good luck!
Old 06-08-2018, 08:01 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Gabapentin is used off-label for alcohol dependence and has been shown to reduce the number of drinking days compared to placebo, and to reduce the quantity of alcohol consumed by people who did drink while taking it. In a typical study, 4 out of 100 people stayed abstinent on placebo, while 17 out of 100 stayed abstinent on gabapentin.