Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

Battling anxiety headaches and depression from quitting drinking

Notices

Old 04-29-2018, 02:02 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hey my name is Matt and I’m 26. Today makes it a month sober from alcohol. I have been drinking regularly for about five years about five nights a week. I decided to quit alcohol when my anxiety came back. I haven’t hadAnxiety since I was 22. When my anxiety came back I quit cold turkey and at the same time I quit smoking marijuana and cut out caffeine because everything I did made me anxious.It is been a month now from today and I’m still having anxiety it’s been getting a little better .I’ve been prescribe Xanax. When I first got my anxiety I was taking a half a milligram 3 to 4 times a day, after my second week I made it down to two a day, my third week I made it 1 to 2 a day so for my fourth week I tried to go without it for a little bit. I made it to days without a Xanax and I was able to leave my house while doing it, it was a big accomplishment. But I still don’t feel back to normal. After those two days without Xanax I had a panic attack and I think it was withdraw from Xanax . I have read a lot of forms and looked up a lot of sites and I believe I’m going through postacute withdrawal syndrome. The first week from quitting drinking I was very emotional very anxious and very depressed. The second week I was still anxious but I got really bad brain fog, I went to the hospital to get a