Notices

I need support with everything!

Old 04-11-2018, 06:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I need support with everything!

I've read a lot of forums but this is my first time posting.. I consider myself very proud and independent but I'm also smart enough to see I need help

So my OH works in a bar and has a few drinks (2/3 shots and 4/5 beers- some days more some days less) after work to 'wind down' he works 6xnights/week. He doesn't drink on his day off.

I've only just realised he has an alcohol problem and it's not just a cultural thing (I come from a family of very occasional drinkers and moved to a location where drinking is the predominant culture.. I am a very occasional drinker myself so it was hard for me to judge what is 'normal')

I realised it was a problem because I am continuously caring for our 3 m/o son as OH is either working, out drinking, out cold asleep or too hungover to care for our child.

How do I bite the bullet and take the next step to resolving the situation? (I am prepared to be a single mum/ move country to be around family/ support him through recovery/ whatever it takes for my son to have a good life)

As in.. how do you swallow your pride, stop playing happy families to your friends and family, support yourself financially with a young baby, issue ultimatums etc I have no idea how to proceed.. only that I need to

Any advice appreciated TIA

Background info
No he is not abusive but I wouldn't rule it out as a future possibility
We have been together 18mths
We live in a separate country from our family and are from 2 different countries ourselves
I'm 30 he's 27
I have located our nearest al-anon group but don't have the courage to go!!!
Old 04-11-2018, 07:28 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

anonee,
welcome.
the people in alanon will be people in places like the one you're in, and those in worse, and those that have found a solution there and are wanting to share that with you if you are interested.