Notices

Need some comfort

Old 03-21-2018, 12:20 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need some comfort

I'm 26. I've been drinking more than a pint or maybe just about a pint... not sure. Pretty much every night for a year now. I've been drinking hard for a couple years I guess. I don't really have an exact time frame.

But... I'm done. I hope.

And I'm scared. I've quit a couple times. Once for 5 days and the last time, 7 days....
I had night sweats and mild symptoms but for some reason I'm worried about trying to quit again and what might happen.

Any advice? Words of comfort... I can make a doctors appointment I guess. But can anyone just give me advice at the moment? I know everyone is different.... I'm so scared of getting sick or having a seizure.
Old 03-21-2018, 01:49 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'll be the first of many to recommend a doctor visit, where you're really honest about your intake. You've already experienced mild withdrawal symptoms, so medical help is certainly indicated. Don't panic, but do proceed!

On a side note, you're the same age I was when I first admitted to a doctor that I was drinking basically a pint of whiskey every day, and he acted like that was a pretty big problem! I guess I knew it was, just needed to hear it.

Fast forward 30 years: lots of rehabs and many lost days later, I've been sober for a year. You have a chance to avoid a lot of misery, and live a much better life than I did. For today, make an appointment, and cut your intake in half if you're scared of seizures. I know, no medical advice; I'm walking a thin line here; but we all know withdrawal can be a real issue that (in my experience) should be monitored. I'm just happy that you're serious about quitting; I'd pay big bucks to get that chance back at your age! God, I'm such a grampaw...
Old 03-21-2018, 04:13 AM
  # 3 (permalink)