Notices

Day 3. Here comes a 4 day weekend

Old 03-14-2018, 01:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Tv1

Day 3. Here comes a 4 day weekend

I have been trying to trick my mind . Telling it that filling the void of my quick fix will get done with productivity and focus. The quick release from reality by taking a drink and completing a bottle is no longer an option. Trying to change things. Will go to my first meeting in years this Saturday. Been listening to Sober Guy Radio. Amy Dresner. Russell Brand.
And there are so many musicians and songwriters who became more successful when they started recovery
Old 03-14-2018, 05:00 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I'm a sober musician myself. Much better this way

There'll be support here right across the weekend TV1...stay connected

D
Old 03-14-2018, 07:15 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Sobriety podcasts are a great way to stay focused. Some are really entertaining, too. As for the weekend, think of it as an opportunity to build sober muscles. The first weekend seems daunting, but making it through gives a huge feeling of accomplishment.
Old 03-14-2018, 08:18 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

There are some fantastic speakers for the AA perspective on YouTube - Bob D, Chris R to name a couple.

Easily several hours and more worth of enlightening and entertaining material. I say plan to dig in, relax, treat yourself a bit and do some YouTube binging. Maybe venture out for a meeting or two...

Whatever you do don’t let yourself feel like you should have to do anything in particular. We are early in this, we need to stay sober first and foremost. Who cares if we obsess about staying sober for a bit? Obsess away I say, read here, post here, bark at the moon.... :P

I guarantee if you get to Monday sober you’ll feel great about it and that’s a big small win you can build on. Let’s do this.
Old 03-14-2018, 08:33 PM
  # 5 (permalink)