Notices

Sitting In The Dark

Old 02-26-2018, 01:46 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sitting In The Dark

This is my first time posting to any forum, I suppose I'm hoping that my current feelings are familiar to others. I have close to 4 years of recovery under my belt and I am grateful for each and every day of it. Less than a year ago I got married to my wonderful husband. He struggles with depression, something that I was aware of before we married, and has self-medicated in the past, mostly through prescription opiates and weed. The last few months have been particularly difficult as his depression has deepened and, unbeknownst to me at the time, his use of drugs increased. Last weekend he hit bottom/had a crisis, (it's really difficult to separate the depression from the addiction issues) and asked for help. As an addict, I know how hard it was for him to do that and I am very proud of him for taking that step. We have arranged for him to enter an inpatient treatment program next week which specializes in dual-diagnosis. I'm trying my best to focus on self-care and to be diligent with working my own program. I guess what has caught me off guard is how helpless, sad and angry I feel right now. My own experience with addiction and mental health issues would seem to be factors that would help me deal with these feelings appropriately but I'm stunned by how difficult I'm finding the whole situation. I know I can't fix his problems, I know they are not my fault, I know the only thing I can do is sit with him where he is right now and wait for the sun to come out. Is there anyone out there who has watched that sunrise? Maybe I just need a little positive inspiration today...
Old 02-26-2018, 03:01 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR, dnash; I am so sorry for what brings you here.

I am sure that others will be along with experience to share.

In the meantime, you may want to also check the Friends and Families forum here.

Congratulations on your sober time.

Again, welcome!