SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   I Find the Folks at AA amazing. (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/423752-i-find-folks-aa-amazing.html)

Horn95 02-20-2018 11:20 AM

I Find the Folks at AA amazing.

Just got a sponsor. He has been sober for 30 years, gets his chip on Monday. Another guy who spoke last night, 33 years. All around the folks at the meeting I went to last night, as there is at every meeting, there were folks from all walks of life. 10 years sober, some a few months. Just among the most inspirational, strong people I have ever met. And I need to be careful about how I say this, but I am a professional, constantly surrounded by a lot of fancy people. But the folks I have been getting to know, only because I have been going through what I have been fighting for going on 3 years, these folks just keep fighting, and are the most amazing people I have ever met. And they are happier than they have ever been, or fighting like hell to get it back . It’s not perfect. But gosh darn it, so much respect.

And I don’t believe I measure up, not right now. I come from a family of alcoholics. My father, who was one of the strongest men in the world (was a Batallion commander in Vietnam, and one of the highest ranked Hispanic officers in the U. S. Army in the late 70s), was a 3 bottle of wine a night drInker when he passed in the 1990s after a successful SECOND career (car accident on his way to work). My mom, she was a drunk but cleaned up, sort of — she has/had issues far beyond alcohol, but I love her dearly. But alcohol was a poison to our family and their marriage. The things I witnessed of their drunkenness. No child should have seen it. But I digress.