Notices

New here and in need of advice!

Old 02-07-2018, 09:03 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here and in need of advice!

Hi everyone!

I need to make this post as I'm struggling SO much with keeping my drinking under control, and feel like by posting and making others aware, it will push me to do something.

I'm a 34 year old woman and for some reason I go on these mad drinking benders and struggle to get out of them. Its been going on for YEARS.

I've just completed Dry January. An entire month of not drinking and during that time I was going to the gym nearly every day and managed to run about 10k during each session plus weight lifting. I'm also currently unemployed (I was an illustrator for a gaming product, myself and many on my team got made redundant) so have been using all my free time to either exercise or work very hard on improving my artistic skills so that I can steer my career in the right direction (illustration/animation etc) so have been doing tutorials and going to figure drawing classes. I've made a LOT of progress in just a month.

My problem is that once I go out drinking on the weekend, It goes on for days. I went for a brunch with my friends on Saturday. We all had an amazing time, but we were drinking loads (I was drinking more than others) and naturally felt horrible on Sunday. So what did I do? Started drinking early on Sunday to fight the hangover. Then Monday the same thing. Then again yesterday. Today I'm doing EVERYTHING in my power to not reach for a drink. My figure drawing class is tomorrow morning and I absolutely have to go to it as if I miss one, it will become a habit and I'll lose everything I've worked so hard for during January. I haven't been to the gym for four days because I just feel so drained and depressed from the drinking. Literally not capable of doing anything other than write this post.