Notices

Hi Newbie here.. cant believe Im here..

Old 01-25-2018, 11:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi Newbie here.. cant believe Im here..

Hi I hope this is the right place to post and say Hi .. being a newbie I am a little amazed that I am actually here.. and signed up.

I think I'm in denial. But I came across a post from another member on here - whilst doing a Google search for 'is a bottle of wine a night - a problem?'.

I have been trying to lose weight, joined Slimming World as I am about three stone overweight. Needless to say.. Im not following the diet. I use it to get the weigh in.. I eat healthy, have started to exercise - and lost over 5 pounds now in three weeks.
But I keep a dark nasty secret.. i drink a bottle of red a night.

I have had a whole load of issues in my personal life.. too many to list. I have a lovely family, lovely husband, but he too drinks only 4 cans of beer an evening - is this bad too?
Its a way of unwinding, and a release on the stress of how our lives are at the moment.
He gets upset if I say I feel as if I drink too much. He doesnt see any harm in what Im doing.. but I feel rotten in the mornings. Exercise is hard when I feel bad, and some days I miss not being able to do it.
I want to quit. Im sat here now with a big pint of diet bitter lemon - when usually I would be on my third glass of wine by now. A comment by my teenage daughter hit me.. she said that i 'might as well smoke (i dont - never have) as thats an addiction like the wine. A fag a day has to be less harmfull than all the wine you drink mummy?
Feel rotten, feel like a bad parent and confused right now - worried about having the strength not to open the wine bottle now- that hubby has gone out a bought me this eve.
Ive recently had bloods done.. (did not tell the Dr about the wine) They came back fine apart from very low Vitamin D - so Im hoping my liver is ok?