Notices

Feeling hopeless

Old 01-21-2018, 04:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Feeling hopeless

This is my first time on the forum.
I have been drinking heavily for 3 years, but my abuse of alcohol is much longer. I currently drink about 10-14 units of alcohol a day... Usually within 3-5 hours. The longest I have went without alcohol is 2 days. By the end of the third day, I always have a drink in hand.

I'm fed up with drinking. I'm constantly ill. My anxiety and depression are sky high. My bones and muscles ache from severe vitamin deficiencies and worst of all, I'm missing out on my children being young.

I have wanted to quit drinking for some time now, but I always return to alcohol. I need help. I don't know where to begin.
Old 01-21-2018, 04:15 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I was right there three weeks ago. Feel light years better today and excited to keep going. Its rough but you can do it!
Old 01-21-2018, 04:17 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Offthemast View Post
I was right there three weeks ago. Feel light years better today and excited to keep going. Its rough but you can do it!
How did you start? Was there something that helped the most the first week? I feel like if I just get week 1 out of the way, I can do this.
Old 01-21-2018, 04:20 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome to the family. If you have a hard time getting past 3 days, maybe your doctor could give you some medical help to get past the acute withdrawals.

I hope our support can help you get sober for good.
Old 01-21-2018, 04:34 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by GirlScreaming View Post
How did you start? Was there something that helped the most the first week? I feel like if I just get week 1 out of the way, I can do this.
Had a few false starts. Really think I wanted to stop but would always say whats the big deal when I started feeling better.