Notices

But what if I'm high functioning

Old 01-10-2018, 07:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

But what if I'm high functioning

So I remember a year or two ago my fiance told me

"You seem to have a compulsion to drink"

And that is very true

But the thing is I've always been kind of a functioning alcoholic (although I don't know if I'd say alcoholic, but some family members might say that word)

Anyway I've always been functional even when drinking a pint (sometimes more) everyday at times being a 90 pound girl

I've always been normal about drinking or at least appearing normal about it

I almost always drink at night except for the weekends where I might drink at 3 pm

I try to be as normal as possible, esp since my fiance gets worried

I just watch my stuff while my fiance does his own thing and I pour a glass of vodka and whatever as I try to wind down after working or school (I'm a college student)

I've always thought if I am a normal drinking or I make drinking a normal activity and don't act like what I consider a drunk maybe I'm not an alcoholic

I mean on average I have 3-4 vodka/ soda drinks a day and I'm 90 pounds (I'm 5 foot)

But I also don't have an extended history with drinking. By that I mean.. I've had months here and there since I was 18 (I'm 30 in june) of not drinking.

I don't always drink everyday, but lately for the past month I've been drinking a ton

I do have a history of alcohol/drug use.. I've been hospitalized for ODs, Outpatient and inpatient treatment, etc

I don't know... I feel like I'm good at making excuses

It scares me to know that I'm so smart and intelligent (which is a trait I've seen in many alcoholics/addicts) but I can have such an urge to drink

Thoughts?
Old 01-10-2018, 07:51 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
quat