Welcome Muffinface!
Old 01-10-2018, 07:01 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Administrator

I'm glad you found us.
Old 01-10-2018, 07:13 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  

Accidentally hit send message.

Well that cooks my crumpet. i accidentally hit send on a message, and after finishing it my 15 minute window expired. So here goes round 2.

Yo. First time poster and apart from my fiance and 3 psychologists who i bailed on ive never spoken about this secret alcoholism to anyone. Perhaps having a community of likeminded individuals like yourselves could be the key.

Ill try to keep this short but maybe saying some of the following will bring some catharsism.

Im 32 and ive been drinking for 10 years and its only getting worse. A bottle of whiskey a day or three bottles of wine a day kind of thing. And im at a point in my life where I can die from alcohol abuse, lose everything and everyone i love or both. So im here to make a change and begin a new chapter of my life.

Isn't it strange that you can attempt to quit smoking and get high 5s from your family and peers along with patches and gum but if you want to talk about being a recovering alcoholic? Nope. We dont do that. Its like a taboo subject here where youre just damaged goods and a tramp.

Ironically i havent spoken about it so maybe im wrong but that's how it feels for me.

I plan on changing this stupid life i lead and accept that i probably cant touch a drink for the rest of my life. One beers too many and one hundred isn't enough.
But ive got a couple of things I'd always wanted to ask and I think im im the right spot.

1. I'm getting married soon. How the F does one have no drinks at their own bucks party or wedding? How do you deal with an event that youre 'supposed to drink at?