Notices

The beginning of my journey

Old 12-22-2017, 04:26 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The beginning of my journey

So I'm 32....been drinking heavily (10-12 beers a night) for 4 years.....had about 3 weeks of sobriety in that time frame (alltogether). About a month ago I got a horrible panic attack. Was in the middle of Target and felt like I was gonna die or have a stroke or a heart attack or a seizure......my palms were sweaty, my feet were hot/tingling, my legs felt like jelly, and my equilibrium was ******.

Since then I've had about 2 more of that level attacks....and in the afternoons at work I've had increasing symptoms. By about 3-4pm at work, it starts getting REALLY bad...I'm a social worker at a nursing home....and I can't even walk on the floors to talk to residents...I just start feeling like i'm going to pass out or lose it...and I escape.

I'm actively being seen at the VA for this.....first they tried trazadone and gabapentin....didn't work, though I didn't try long...the gaba made me feel super "cloudy" and off......(that was a year prior to the panic attacks). Then I went back and got Hydroxizine and Lexapro.......the Hydroxizine (which I tried because I got it 2 days before my first panic attack) was just kinda glorified benadryl. I had a panic attack for 3 hours that day at target. Thought I was having withdrawals so I ran to a bar, got a shot, and a beer, and it didn't help. Sat in the back of my brothers car trying to not freak out for the next 2 1/2 hours.

I had another one last night....thought I was gonna have a seizure....got horrible temporal buzzing....and thought I was gonna seize in front of my 4 year old daughter. Dropped her off and drove home.....had to pull over 5 times just to collect myself.