SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Pins and Needles (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/420690-pins-needles.html)

Tommy0311 12-22-2017 02:04 PM

Pins and Needles

Hi all!

Newbie here. Anyway, I'm an alcoholic who is going on my third week of sobriety. This is the longest stent i've had in 10 years. Man, what respect I have for everyone working on recovery. I'm on week three and still feel like crap. I've had all kinds of symptoms but none more bothersome than the pins and needles/cramping sensation all over my body. The onset occurred about three days after I quit so I don't think it's alcohol induced peripheral neuropathy. That said, i googled the way i'm feeling an of course the internet has me thinking its MS or some other neurologic disease. Has anyone else experienced this? *I checked the FAQ on this page and it didn't populate any results*

DontRemember 12-22-2017 02:32 PM

Dr. Google is always giving me cancer. I started taking daily vitamins on week 2 I think? Multi,potassium,ect.. Drinking robs a lot of nutrition in several ways. Lack of a proper diet(even if I'd eat at all some days) being a big one for me. So, this last quit I threw Vit into my daily plan and still take them 12 months later. Just a thought.

Tonymblue 12-22-2017 03:56 PM

I had similar symptoms. A multivitamin for the minerals and b vitamins really helped speed my recovery.

Dee74 12-22-2017 04:21 PM

Hi Tommy - only a Dr can tell you for sure whats goign on - a real one, not Dr Google.

If you're not that worried about it I hope it will pass in time :)

D

Hawkeye13 12-22-2017 04:30 PM

I had all sorts of stuff coming and going the first few weeks.

Eat well, hydrate yourself, get on some quality vitamins / minerals