Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

Just need to be honest, so I can get through this day...scared witless!

Notices

Old 12-15-2017, 06:29 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I have been battling booze for almost 25 years. I finally came clean to my wife, which felt great, but totally sucked. I hated hurting her. But, maybe now she can get the husband she deserves. I am not dead yet! :-)

I have lost a number of jobs because of alcohol. I am overweight. I am scared. My health surprisingly is good. I was just in the hospital and got a good report. But, still I am scared.

Work has me and my wife apart for most of the year. And, when I am away from her, I have tended to make bad choices.

Just looking for support today.
Old 12-15-2017, 06:50 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Welcome OldCoach. I think you've made a good choice...and the community here can help you along the way to keep making them if that's your intention. I drank for the better part of 3 decades too and I understand how scary it seems to be moving forward without alcohol. I could not fathom it myself, I had a beer in my hand literally every waking moment of the day except at work.

Take a look at adding things to your life to replace the time you spent drinking - there is literally a limitless list of them out there. Even just basic things like getting your life in order bit by bit can be really satisfying. Setting up a simple routine to take a walk every day for example can help with your health, both mental and physical. Reading books or here on SR about recovery or other self-help areas is a great start too. You could join the class of December 2017 thread here too, all you have to do is post and say hello!
Old 12-15-2017, 07:06 AM
  # 3 (permalink)