Notices

Feeling hopeless... 18k in debt and recovering

Old 11-14-2017, 04:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Feeling hopeless... 18k in debt and recovering

I'm a 29 year old man who has struggled with depression and addiction on and off for the last 15 years or more of my life. It started out with drinking at parties in middle and high school and that created a habit of drinking and using as much as possible. This was my way to escape a strict christian upbringing that felt like a prison. Whenever I could drink or use drugs I could escape the feelings of guilt from religious judgment from family. That isn't the only reason though I did enjoy being high and drunk. This carried on throughout college and I got a DUI at 19 but kept drinking and using afterward. I graduated and have held jobs but have no solid career. I lost my last job after I became manager and the stress became overwhelming. I had a girlfriend during this time as well and discovered she was cheating and then she left me. The combination of that and job stress drove me to cocaine and alcohol use on an almost nightly basis. I wanted to die and basically used my credit cards to fuel my addictions and feelings of worthlessness. I developed feelings towards women where I have come to believe all they want are material things and if I cant offer that then I might as well be dead.