Notices

Personal Victory and What I've Learned

Old 10-28-2017, 08:29 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Personal Victory and What I've Learned

Good Morning SR!

This will be a long post, I get long winded at times as I like to talk/write.

I wanted to take the time to share my experiences of the last week as it's been a personal victory in a way I didn't think I would accomplish. It's a tried and true sentiment on a couple of lessons I've learned from SR in talking to people and implemented in ways that WORKED. For those struggling right now, I hope you can pull something from my positive experiences.

For those that don't know, I'm a Probation Officer and work with a very difficult population. This last week I was chosen to attend Gang Training, which I was very stoked about. It's a population of people I've been working on and off with for 10 years and it's an always evolving and changing population. This training was held 3 hours away and I was put up in a hotel room for the week.

Now, being very early in my recovery, I was terrified to be away from home. I credit my sobriety (6 weeks Monday) to being very structured and organized with my days. This week in a hotel with co-workers and no support system terrified me as I wasn't sure I was strong enough to be away from my routine. This past week was going to be my toughest challenge yet.

I've been away for training before, weeks and months at a time. These periods of time were riddled with drinking, having a drink in hand 15 minutes after class ended. Drinking every night, hung over and worthless for half the next day, rinse and repeat. People in my field are very heavy drinkers, might be a way to cope with the stress of the job, and we ALL took advantage of the time away. This training was no different.