Notices

Day 2

Old 10-08-2017, 11:12 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 2

It's been a while since I've posted. I was relapsing so often that it became too demoralising to come back again and again and vow that this time was it.
Since May, I've managed 31 days AF and three shorter periods of 11, 12 and 13 days. Loads of shorter periods. I don't drink every day, or even a few times a week, but I binge, once a week on average and that's been my pattern for a long time.
Each time though, I learn something new and I refuse to give up hope that I can kick this for good.
So, it's day 2 here for me, it's embarrassing but it is what it is,
Old 10-08-2017, 11:28 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Hope you stick around.
Old 10-08-2017, 11:30 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Nothing embarrassing at all noneever. Takes effort and determination to start over each time. I'm no expert as I'm just starting into my journey, but better your here no matter how many restarts you have. Who of us doesn't feel your pain!? Great effort....don't be hard on yourself. ☺.
Old 10-08-2017, 11:49 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I'm glad you are here and posting. What have you been doing to help you stay sober during the stretches of sobriety you have had? Can you think what you might be able to add for the days you have struggled?
Old 10-08-2017, 11:58 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Hi Delilah- during the longer stretches I was listening to recovery/ addiction podcasts daily, exercising a few times a week and journaling. I was able to recognise cravings when they arose and ride them out. Having something planned for times which I know are triggering for me also helped- meeting up with a friend, going to AA. Getting out of the house and planning y day is really important for me- loneliness and boredom are my biggest triggers and it's when I'm at a lose end that I end up drinking.
I've started using the Daybreak app and I'm also doing the Alcohol Experiment by Annie Grace. And I've returned here.