Notices

New to this and need so much guidance

Old 09-30-2017, 03:23 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to this and need so much guidance

Hello all,
I am new to what is happening in my life and need as much advice as possible. Last week, a very dear old friend contacted me because she was being kicked out of where she was living and totally homeless. I went and picked her up and it didn't take long to realize she has a severe alcohol and drug problem. In addition to this, she seems to be dillusional and suffering from depression. She doesn't seem to care about herself or what happens to her and now she is in my home. I have never seen in my personal life someone who needed to be in a residential facility so desperately.
I have spoken to her siblings and discovered that this problem has been growing for some time. In terms of help, they've been giving her money, but it has been blown on liquor and drugs leading to her current homeless situation. None of them seem up to the effort involved in tough love or an intervention.

This is having an enormous negative effect on my home and relationship with my husband. She believes she just needs some new clothes and will go get a job. She can't even see clearly that she's not fit to get a job.
I'm not sure exactly what to say to her. I am going to have to tell her that she needs to get into recovery or I can drop her off somewhere, but she can't stay. I feel terrible because she has suffered with depression and suicidal thoughts her whole life. Any suggestions are appreciated more than you can ever know.
Old 09-30-2017, 03:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I'm sorry for the situation with your friend. I hope she decides to seek help for her issues. Unfortunately there is not a lot that you can do to help her until she decides to seek help for herself. It's understandable that you do not want her to remain in your home. I hope she chooses rehab for herself.
Old 09-30-2017, 05:01 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator