Notices

What to expect

Old 09-01-2017, 08:45 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What to expect

I have finally decided to enter rehab after 12 years of trying to do it on my own. The first thing I have learned is that it's a huge pain in the behind to find a facility without insurance. Even those that will accept State funding have me jumping through hoops to gain admittance. Anyone here have advice on what to expect in a 30 day program?
Old 09-01-2017, 09:08 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome Tangerine
I moved your post to its own thread - you'll get more response that way

I have no experience to share myself but perhaps others will

D
Old 09-01-2017, 09:23 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
nez

Rehab gave me a fighting chance and lots of recovery tools. I needed the environment of isolation and protection from alcohol/drugs that rehab provided so that I could absorb the life lessons presented to me, before re-entering the big world.
Old 09-01-2017, 09:56 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Good job! I really wish I had went to rehab when I first joined here,but i thought I "wasn't that bad..pshh?". From this site and the court ordered AA(again.. I wasn't "that bad" why go on my own?), I'm coming up on 10 months with no drinks or hard drugs. BUT.. I did have to 'unplug' from my life to get here. Hang in there and use this place as support/to share your growth in sobriety.
Old 09-02-2017, 02:43 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
No Dogma Please

I was fortunate to have insurance that covered rehab. At the (hopefully) end of my drinking career I was up to five bottles of wine a day, drinking around the clock, on top of 3mg of Lunesta per night. My GP refused to continue treating me unless I agreed to a psych consult, where they told me it was extremely dangerous to do a non-medical detox, and that a five day inpatient detox alone would have an extremely high probability of immediate relapse. So the psych team strongly suggested a thirty day residential program.