Notices

I'm new here.

Old 08-25-2017, 06:44 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
So far to go.

I'm new here.

Hello, everyone.

I had trouble coming up with a good title, so I went with something simple.

I'm new to recovery, somewhat. I'm new to heavily focusing on it. To start I've been binge drinking since my late teens, although it did not become problematic until I became of legal age and I was able to purchase beer myself (I've never been much of a liquor person). I binged regularly through college and my twenties, but once I turned 29 going on 30 I told myself I didn't want to keep drinking heavily into my 30s. I turned 30 in April and still haven't quite stopped, although the volume has gone down over the years. My goal is to quit completely.

I'm fortunate that I have not done any significant damage to myself physically (though I've definitely put on some weight). I've never suffered serious withdrawals (DTs, etc). I've never gotten myself into legal trouble with my drinking. Mentally, though the drinking is only pulling me backwards while I'm trying to go forwards. I take an SRI, and they really can't work if I continue drinking. I also see a counselor, and have been diagnosed with major depression and being an episodic binge drinker. I've been so ashamed of myself not being fully honest with my continued drinking. In a way that's why I've come here: to be more honest about this serious problem. I do understand it's an anonymous setting.

On the more positive side of things I do have a job I enjoy, but I know the occasional weeknight binge really makes me an unproductive employee for the next day. A lack of focus is dangerous in my job as I'm working with sensitive information.