Notices

Think I need a meeting...

Old 08-24-2017, 04:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Think I need a meeting...

I'm sitting in a coffee shop, trying to work on job applications, and the craving has been out of control. I thought I could come here, drink some coffee, and focus. This place has actually triggered a lot more then expected. I'm alone, I used to bring alcohol here in water bottles to get hammered and use their WiFi. My thoughts are everywhere. The guilt and shame is overwhelming. I'm lonely. It doesn't matter what I think or what I do, the AV is screaming inside of me. There is a meeting 1.6 miles from where I'm at and it starts in 30 mins. I've never been to a meeting. No idea what to expect. I just know I can't handle this all night and I'll never sleep if it doesn't go away.

I told myself whatever it takes, it's time to try things I've never done before, things out of my comfort zone. I'm losing my mind and just want to feel normal again. I don't know what normal feels like.

I'm going to the meeting.
Old 08-24-2017, 04:11 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

good on ya for stepping out of your comfort zone!

let us know how it goes,eh?
Old 08-24-2017, 04:47 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Learning to Live

excellent choice! Yes, please let us know how it goes
Old 08-24-2017, 05:08 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

An hour or so meeting can't be worse than those swirling thoughts.. Give it a go and see what you think.
Old 08-24-2017, 06:46 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

For me the best parts of meetings, we're hanging around after and talking to those who have been where I was. Glad you went, and hope it helps.
Old 08-24-2017, 07:11 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Mick75 View Post
For me the best parts of meetings, we're hanging around after and talking to those who have been where I was. Glad you went, and hope it helps.