Notices

The world is very different since I last was sober.

Old 08-24-2017, 07:25 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The world is very different since I last was sober.

Hey there soberfriends

So, I've been drinking heavily for about ten years and I did drugs before that for about five. So overall 15 years of my life has just been a blur. Even when I stopped drinking for a while before I replaced it with drugs.

In all honesty... I've not been paying much attention to the world around me and one strange thing that's hit me is I don't feel like I recognize the world I currently occupy.

Did anyone else feel that sense of detachment, that psychologically I pretty much expected things to be the same as the world in the 90/s start of the millennium and it's not that things have changed its that I think people, culture, at least where I live, has changed so significantly I can't really relate to a lot of what is happening around me.

I don't know, I have anxiety and depression and I know these sorts of feelings are actually a pretty normal symptom.

Am I just being strange here? Or is this something any other long term addicts felt?
Old 08-24-2017, 07:32 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Andagain View Post
Hey there soberfriends

So, I've been drinking heavily for about ten years and I did drugs before that for about five. So overall 15 years of my life has just been a blur. Even when I stopped drinking for a while before I replaced it with drugs.

In all honesty... I've not been paying much attention to the world around me and one strange thing that's hit me is I don't feel like I recognize the world I currently occupy.

Did anyone else feel that sense of detachment, that psychologically I pretty much expected things to be the same as the world in the 90/s start of the millennium and it's not that things have changed its that I think people, culture, at least where I live, has changed so significantly I can't really relate to a lot of what is happening around me.