Notices

Fear of what withdrawals will be like

Old 07-31-2017, 08:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Fear of what withdrawals will be like

Hi all. I am new here and need support. I have been telling myself everyday for many many years that I want to quit drinking. I am a bottle a wine night kinda gal for 10 years with some unfortunate vodka use thrown in the mix. I haven't touched hard liquor in over a year due to being fearful of what it was doing to my mind. I thought I was smart thinking wine wouldn't do any damage. Haha. The jokes on me. I have been suffering panic attacks for months now. Have ended up in the ER with an ocular migraine. Told the ER doc that I drink a bottle of wine a night and he gave me Ativan. I'm fearful to take it since there is mental illness in my immediate family and my mom had a break down on Ativan.
My thing is I need to stop drinking TODAY. I'm done with it in all senses. I'm a high functioning wino and hate what torture I mentally put myself through everyday.
I'm just so afraid of withdrawals. I can't go anywhere to stop right now due to important commitments at work that I can not miss this week.
I am just hoping being here and getting support will relieve some of my anxiety while I finally give up drinking. I asked my husband who drinks beer every night to be part of a 30 day challenge of not drinking with me. He said he would accept the challenge. I'm not sure he will follow through but I need to and I need to stay strong for myself.
Please pray for me and I will pray for you if you are struggling
Thank you for listening.
Old 07-31-2017, 09:00 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome you will get lots of help and support here
Old 07-31-2017, 09:08 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR Hope,