Notices

My first post

Old 07-28-2017, 04:09 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My first post

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here, though I have lurked and read as a non member now and again. I woke up on Tuesday morning after yet another birthday spent drinking far too much wine. I felt awful, physically and mentally and as you can imagine one of the main thoughts going through my head was 'I never want to feel this way again, ever.' And I don't, I really don't. The anxiety, the shakes, the nausea, you know the feeling. It's unlike anything else in the world and it's even more horrible because you know you did this to yourself. As the day went on and that mantra kept going through my head 'I never want to feel this way again', another thought came to me, stunning in it's simplicity. 'I never have to.'.

Now I know it's not as simple as recognising that they only way never to feel that way is not to drink, at all, ever and that's why I am here. I quit drinking last year for three months and felt amazing for it but it didn't last because I had no support, no plan. I stupidly thought I could do it alone. So today I signed up for here to seek that support. I also signed up for Smart Recovery and although the meetings in my area are few, they do have online meetings as well.

So here I am. I have had no alcohol since Monday and the fog is starting to lift. I know from experience that the fourth and fifth days when the physical and mental symptoms are dissipating is when the old 'I could just have a few' thoughts start to creep in. I can't just have 'a few'. I can't have any because if I do, I will inevetably feel the way I never want to feel again! Thank you for reading, wish me strength
Old 07-28-2017, 04:14 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

You have the strength inside - thank you for your share. Keep coming back. This site helps me everyday to save my life.
Old 07-28-2017, 04:16 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome! You have made the first step towards sobriety, congratulations!