Notices

The Why

Old 07-05-2017, 04:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The Why

For those of SR with long term sobriety, did focusing on why you drank (reasons/triggers/anxieties if any) help you remain successful?

*** I have viewed a few postings from those that didn't feel why they drank was relevant to their recovery.

For me I'm starting to believe that will be necessary to move forward.

Thoughts? Thanks...
Old 07-05-2017, 04:51 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
The road goes on forever

That's a good question.

Personally, I drank and did other things to get "stoned" ... I enjoyed the feeling.....simple as that... Started when I was 13...

Finally after 40+ years my body gave me a "wake up" call and I came to terms. Enough was enough.

But I don't think about why I drank at all.
Old 07-05-2017, 04:58 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I'm very new to recovery (60 days tomorrow!! Yay) and my whole life I thought I drank due to my past. I have a history of abuse and trauma. Now I know I did partially drink due to this but now that I'm clear minded I ruminate less about the past? I'm not sure why or if that's even healthy. So far I know it works right now so I'm going with it. I have a specific flashback of drinking and almost dying that I'm having issues with but the "why" doesn't seem as important now. It sucked but I'm able to deal with it better. Again not sure if that's healthy or if it will come back and haunt me. Great post btw. Thank you
Old 07-05-2017, 04:59 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I have one year sober and understanding my triggers was absolutely critical to staying sober. I had to see a bad situation coming before it was to late. As far as emotional reasons I drink I haven't spent much time on that. The conclusion I always came up with was first I just loved it then I was addicted. In the end as long as I'm sober I'm happy.
Old 07-05-2017, 05:05 PM
  # 5 (permalink)